top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNadav Nankin

A few things I've Learned at South Bay Rehabilitation.

1. Protect your rotator cuff!

- It's a common injury! The rotator cuff is located in the shoulder joint and is very easy to tear if you overextend your arm to pick up something heavy. If you're going to lift something by reaching out, try not to pick it up with just your shoulder. Get closer to the object and get help from the other joints in your arm.


2. Icing.

- To some this may be common knowledge, but it wasn't for me. When you are icing you should always cover the ice pack with a thin layer of fabric or a paper towel. Direct contact from the ice is actually dangerous and can cause issues, even possibly leading to frostbite.


3. Sneezing.

- A rather weird one but when I was volunteering I often stifled my sneezing so that I didn't make a lot of sound or contaminated the area around me. The physical therapists that I was working with at the time told me that stifling your sneeze is actually unhealthy, and one person had their esophagus erupt because of it! it can also damage your ear drums so instead of stifling your sneeze be sure to let your body do its thing!

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page